Good things you didn’t know about, brought to you by your friends

July 4, 2006

On this my country’s 230th b-day, I would like to take a moment to note some of things that I never would have thought to try on my own but that my friends have brought into my life, by force or just the immense powers of their charm. A short list:

1) The Declaration of Independence, brought to me by Thomas Jefferson. I didn’t really know him that well, or, well, at all, but I think he did a kick-ass job of writing this one up. For further details check out this fun DailyKos posting.

2) My in-laws’ new parrot, Chip. He was rescued from Old Cutler Road and brought to their house by a friend, Miss Wallace.

dsc05153.jpg

3) Cape Codders, brought to me by my friend SB who got it from Ms. Barret of Grin and Barret fame. Who knew that cranberry juice could taste so good? Simple, sophisticated, and easy on the palate. I’m actually owing a lot of good things in life to Ms. Barret these days. See #4.

4) Veronica Mars! And good television in general. There’s so much out there, it takes some trusted advice to get you to what’s worth your precious time. The top 2 people in this category are currently Ms. Barret, whose unerring taste in heroines and genre-driven teen dramas led me to the most amazing such show ever, and Salon’s Heather Havrilesky, who isn’t really my friend but who I feel a kinship with as she is 1) married like me and 2) has had close encounters of the evil dermatologist kind like me. What would I do without her column to help me both decide what to watch and keep up with all the things I can’t? Listen up chickens, television can save your life.

5) New Orleans, brought to me by my friends the librarians, and in particular my mentor at the FAU library. I was petrified of this city for years, due in part to visions of shrimp coated in cayenne pepper and in part to the fact that I kind of think The Skeleton Key isn’t exactly just a horror movie. It wasn’t until the ALA conference was schedule there that I even thought about visiting, and it wasn’t until I sat in the thick air of the French Quarter in June, filled with hurricanes, gumbo, and jazz that I fell in love. Nothing too original about that–if I learned anything about Nola it is that it has a way of making its most unlikely and temporary residents fall head over heels.

6) Sufjan Stevens, brought to me by Diego and Frida. Why is it that a couple of East coasters burned me the cd that allows me to touch the midwestern mystique that I left behind but still relate to on a genetic level? Go figure, but I’ll always be grateful.

7) Florida, brought to me by my husband. We got the hurricanes, but we got the space shuttles and the palm trees too. Come check it out, eh?
This list could go on and on, and it’s just my current little way of understanding how much better life can be than your plans for it. There’s a lot of unavoidable crap and hurt out there. You don’t choose that. There’s also people who care enough about you to share the amazing tucked-away corners of creativity and the world that they happen across. You don’t choose them either, but they keep trying. When I’m lucky, the second set of non-chosen things helps me live through the first. That’s as close to a working definition of grace as I have.

4 Responses to “Good things you didn’t know about, brought to you by your friends”

  1. Lauren Says:

    So, Diego and Frida are real people? I thought they were just a rhetorical excercise, like, “hey let’s go back and time and imagine what Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo would have thought luscious!” But, if they like Sufjan Stevens, that can’t be the case.

    Hmmmm…

  2. Lauren Says:

    So, Diego and Frida are real people? I thought they were just a rhetorical excercise, like, “hey let’s go back in time and imagine what Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo would have thought luscious!” But, if they like Sufjan Stevens, that can’t be the case.

    Hmmmm…

  3. Lauren Says:

    Sorry for the double post.

  4. Liz Says:

    I covet all comments, even multiply posted ones! Yes, Diego and Frida are real and currently touring Portugal. There will probably be more about them when they get back and we get Lusciousity details worked out. It migrated to a wordpress platform and it has had some issues, but it will be prettier when it’s back up.


Leave a Reply

