Not in our heads, ladies

July 21, 2006

In honor of G&B’s summer goal of Thinking Like a Dude, I wanted to pass along this interview with Ben Barres that made the most-emailed list on the NY Times for a little while this past week. Actually, D rooted it out of the Wall Street Journal a week ago and brought it to my attention then, but with my sis in town and all that homework I haven’t had time to comment as yet. Plus I think the WSJ is only available to subscribers.  Anyway, what makes this he so special is that he used to be a she, and that he has now been a brilliant scientist in both genders. And no surprise, he’s found a big difference between being smart while female and being smart while male. The biggest difference: “People who do not know I am transgendered treat me with much more respect. I can even complete a sentence without being interrupted by a man.” Thank you for pointing that out, Mr. Barres. Now that you’re a man,  maybe someone will not only let you finish that sentence but listen to what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

