Not laborious enough day

September 4, 2006

Okay, so I didn’t get as much work done over the weekend as I had planned. Fortunately, time and weather have been on my side, cancelling one class last week and one class this week, spreading the homework load just a little thinner. So even though I haven’t really checked anything off the list just yet, I’ve gotten enough done to call it just about a night and settle in for my American dose of red meat, beer (albeit Mexican), chips & salsa, and the Hurricanes.

For the record, here’s what I’m reading.

Melville: collected short works, partially for my Melville class and partially for the general research methods/ theory class known as Principles and Problems. I guess there is little enough published on most of his shorter stuff that the prof thinks we all have a legitimate chance of coming up with something original if we do our research right. We shall see.

Louis Zukofsky: Selected Poems, edited by Charles Bernstein. This is a spiffy new collection with a fetching brown and pink cover color scheme. Zukofsky is a poet I have heard of but not read much of, so this will be good for me. He also didn’t write the kind of poetry I generally gravitate toward. You know,

the kind (:with)

very                     few

w

o

r

ds.–
Actually, it looks as if most of the books the poetry prof has assigned for the semester aren’t the kind of stuff I really heart BUT I am keeping an open mind. And a very humble one. Heck, it’s not as if I have a book of poems to represent what I think poetry should be.

For fun, Deborah Eisenberg’s Twilight of the Superheroes. It’s a short story collection that’s right in step with our lovely tortured hedonistic zeitgeist.

Okay, I am being called on to watch the burgers fry, so what I’m listening to and what we popped in the dvd player over the weekend will just have to wait.

Happy almost last long weekend holiday of the year!

Leave a Reply

