Happy centenary, Mr. Auden

February 21, 2007

It’s good thing I started checking my Guardian books feed again when I did, or I might have completely missed the 100th anniversary of W. H. Auden’s birth. In his honor, the cabbies of his hometown of York are going to be reciting “Night Mail” to all of their passengers. So cool. If I can find it online or in the library, I’ll try to post the poem that got me started on Auden back at the end of my junior year in high school. I don’t mean to imply that I know any great amount of things about Auden (I totally flunked the Auden junkie quiz the Guardian posted), but he is one of the poets I read most during the years that I gravitated towards literature and poetry. So it sticks with me.

Leave a Reply

