Time to update

July 13, 2007

For those of you who have been chatting with me, you already know this: the med school jones has hit me again with a vengeance. Was this brought on by T-Fap’s recent appearance in the south Fla? Perhaps. Was it also brought on by having oodles more energy now that I’ve ditched hormonal birth control? Also, perhaps. But perhaps it’s a little piece of evidence that this idea is going to stick around. We’ll see.

Along with this jones has returned my jones for doctor blogs, and I was just cruising a few and seeing that most of them manage to update at least every other day. That made me feel lame. If an emergency medicine resident can update her blog on a regular basis, what the heck is my excuse?

In non-jonesing news, I just finished up my first round of work on the final Collection Development project, an evaluation of a small subject collection in my library. The first step is just to select the titles and then put all their vital info into a spreadsheet. That’s what I just got done. Fortunately, there were only 75 titles to list, but it still felt like a lot of copying and pasting. The subject I picked is, as the Library of Congress would call it, “Poetry–Authorship.” It includes titles such as Dissonance (if you are interested) by my poetry super-hero, Rosmarie Waldrop and Thirteen ways of looking for a poem :  a guide to writing poetry by Wendy Bishop and the utterly lamentable Writing light verse and prose humor, which was published in 1971 and under my watchful collection development eye I am going to recommend that its days be numbered. Drastically. As in, gone yesterday.

Not too much else to report. D passed his subject area exam for teaching (yay!) and has had his science classes switched to language arts classes. (Ha, the English major says.) I am using my Whole Foods discount like no tomorrow seeing as he has less than three weeks left. Truffle oil, WLNM recommends, and D concurs. So there might be some mushroom soup in our future.

I turned in my first story to fiction workshop. That’s all I’m going to say about that.

I’m really hungry! So I’m leaving the library for now, but I’m sure I’ll be back tomorrow, moving on to stage 2 of final project and sharing more personal tidbits with the universe because I am BLOGGER hear me ROAR.

Leave a Reply

