Spacelust

September 21, 2007

My BoingBoing feed delivered a link to this Guardian showcase of writers’ writing rooms–a photo and brief statement each. Fun times. Some (Geoff Dyer’s) are drop-dead fabulous and others (Mark Haddon’s) are utterly charming, but the one that most resembles mine (well, I don’t have a room, I have a corner of a room) is definitely Sarah Waters’s, and I like her minimalist approach to space needs: “the truth is, I think all I need in a study is a flat surface, a computer, and a closable door.” True that–and I’ve been known to go without the closable door part. I also love the poster she has taped up over her desk, with a symbol of British life, the crown, and the words “Keep Calm and Carry On.” So I am reassured to find that looking at all these pimped-out writing rooms doesn’t make me want to rush out and re-decorate, but I have realized that the thing I want most from these rooms–the view outside the window— can’t be bought at Ikea or anywhere else. You have to move to England to get that. Sigh.

2 Responses to “Spacelust”

  1. Shannon Says:

    If there was a library as lovely as the one in Foer’s picture around here, I would work in the library too. I have my little spot at the dining room table where I can spend time with the animals as well have everything I need within reach (books, pens, computer). The only thing I don’t have, and sometimes it is desperately missed, is a door that shuts. I’ve humored the idea of buying a Japanese screen to put around me that would be interpreted as Do Not Disturb.

  2. Liz Says:

    Okay, you try a Japanese screen and I’ll try mental kung fu: that empty space is a door. That empty space is a door. B/c I don’t think I can fit anything new into my apartment.


Leave a Reply

