Greyhounds!

October 13, 2007

Clocking in at just slightly over my goal of half an hour for my first 5k, I am nowhere near as fast as a greyhound, but I did get to enjoy their company this morning after Daniel and I completed the first annual Greyhound Pets of America S. Florida Chapter 5k. It was so much fun! The crowd was healthy but not overwhelming, and it included a lot of kids. While I think I managed to come in a head of at least a few middle schoolers there were also plenty ahead of me, along with all the high school boys. I got a side cramp that slowed me down about halfway through, and I thought about walking, but I just slowed down enough to keep going until it passed. Still, even if I didn’t meet my goal, I was close, and it’s definitely the fastest 3 miles I’ve ever run. And best of all, greyhounds! Everywhere! Plus a sheriff’s department bloodhound, german shepherd, and clydesdale (horse!). I am pumped to keep running and keep dreaming of adopting one of these beautiful, gentle dogs one day.

2 Responses to “Greyhounds!”

  1. S.O.S Says:

    Congratulations!!!

  2. AH Says:

    3.2 miles! Don’t undersell yourself! Congrats, I’m so happy you did this for yourself. And I’m happy you enjoyed doing it!


Leave a Reply

