Cranky Tuesday

October 16, 2007

I think I’m going to start Cranky Tuesday as a regular feature on this blog. After reading Hazlitt’s “On the Pleasures of Hating” for creative nonfic workshop last night, I’m ready to get my hate awn. Although thinking about AH’s comment re: WTSTB temporarily buoyed my mood and got my brain on a track more productive than indulging in irrational levels of anger, a quick scroll through the NYT reminded me that oh yes, it’s still a Tuesday. So, here it is, things that are making me want to rename Tuesday as Boos-day:

  • My car is broken again as of last night. The tail lights won’t turn off. Checked the fuses, unplugged the bulbs. Now it’s a waiting game to find out just how much this one is going to cost us.
  • While D was driving me to work this morning, amidst the sea of Land Rovers and Hummers, I saw a woman pushing her son in a stroller while walking her two older children to school. Aww so cute, right? Woulda had been, if not for the fact that she paused the stroller every few steps to adjust the portable DVD player in her stroller’ed son’s lap. Yes, that’s right. A walk to school is just toooo boring to live through without your DVD on. Esp. if you are three years old.
  • Insurance companies are canceling homeowner’s policies in places that have been hit by hurricanes all of once. EVER. I guess this makes sense–more and more insurers are waking up to the fact that the best way to make a profit is to just take money and never pay it out. Could someone please remind me what use insurance of any kind is these days? I have completely forgotten.
  • In the same vein as last week’s “hey pot, let’s a pass a resolution calling the kettle black” Armenian genocide infuriation, China feels the need to berate the US for giving the Dalai Lama some kind of award. I quote from the NYT snippet: “If the Dalai Lama can receive such an award, there must be no justice or good people in the world.” Hmm, maybe that’s not angry-making. That’s just crack. You gotta love wording like this: “China has solemnly demanded the United States cancel the above-mentioned and extremely wrongful arrangement.” I’m stealing that phrase for my next cranky Tuesday. UPDATE: Gary Kamiya on Salon gives as well-reasoned a thought process as it is probably possible to give re: Armenian genocide resolution. In my typical rhetorical excess, I prefer to oversimplify many large issues, BUT I still think that there’s frustrating degree of hypocrisy in the US deciding to call someone else out on genocide before we’ve used the word to describe our treatment of Native Americans.
  • This article about the football success of the Other Large State University I attend, is also wrong on so many levels. Level 1: higher education in the Fla is so strapped for cash that we have a hiring freeze and will quite possibly be cutting jobs at this time next year. What gets national attention? The football team of course, thereby validating every sell-out master plan that includes building more dorms, promoting more “school spirit” via overfed football teams, and raising the cost of attendance for all those undesirables… I mean non-traditional students who have been this type of school’s bread and butter for decades all in the name of “benefits” that they will not benefit from. Level 2: The title–“With Its Roots in a Trailer”?? Wtf. I did not sign up for southern lit this semester so I could let that one pass. Level 3: It quotes Nick Saban dishing on their admission policies. What is more disturbing about this? That it’s Nick Saban or that he’s right. I will spend the rest of cranky Tuesday trying to decide. Level 4: b/c of this article, I am guaranteed to get a few more emails from non-Floridians such as the ones I got when the OLSU won a big game against West Virginia? maybe?, saying “gosh, aren’t you proud now?” No, is the answer. Not because of that. For a mascot as endearingly original and overlooked as my Owls, I will occasionally give a hoot, but not for these guys.

Well, there you have it. Things that make me go Boo this Tuesday.

5 Responses to “Cranky Tuesday”

  1. S.O.S Says:

    Tuesdays are a good day to be cranky; I’m cranky today too. I heard the story about the Dalai Lama on NPR. I’m pleased that the administration is meeting with him (the reporter mentioned that most Presidents pretend to not meet with him–e.g. Clinton walked in while the DL “happened” to be visiting with Gore–in order to keep from angering China).

  2. SJ Says:

    That would be so hi-larious… if it was funny. Sheesh. Somehow I missed learning that detail when I did my high school senior seminar paper on Tibet.

  3. stephen roxborough Says:

    methinks all bush is up to (on the lama issue) is to piss off china. well, it worked and now they have threatened to drop out of the iran talks which is really a lot of bother isn’t it? all this talk when you have stealth bombers and smart bunker buster bombs. yikes. it’s really happening. stay tuned…

  4. stephen roxborough Says:

    chances are your petty insurance policy will not

    cover “acts of god”
    aka unforeseen
    unavoidable forces of nature
    for which no one
    (until recently)
    but god
    can be held responsible

    yet who is god?
    what bleeding part
    does god play
    in the senseless acts of man
    and what part man
    in the irrational acts of
    a defenseless god?

    can destiny overrule the rule
    of impossibility?
    are disasters punishment
    for mortal faults
    or divine random acts of
    corporate default
    kindness?

  5. SJ Says:

    Indeed, actually pretending to negotiate is much more annoying that just doing what you want.

    “or divine random acts of/ corporate default/ kindess”–I love that kind of language being used poetically.


Leave a Reply

