Nomination for a journal title that will totally pick up your Monday

November 19, 2007

The Scriblerian and the Kit-Cats.

I think I may be a Scriblerian, except that I would spell it with two b’s: Scribblerian. That makes me wonder, is a Scriblerian a person who scribbles or a person who uses a scrib? And are we talking about Kit-Cats or Kit-Kats, preferably Chunky’s?

My library, apparently, is a subscriber, and I just tried to check in the index issue, but there’s no record for it so back to the arrival shelves it goes for now, but it makes me a little happy that such a title exists. I wish I could tell you what this journal was about, but I’m a little clueless here. The cover has a picture of a donkey with an owl riding it on top of a stack of books, and the picture is surrounded by names like Jonathan Swift, Alexander Pope, Thomas Parnell, Robert Walpole, so that means it is probably about… oh well, I could just follow my own link: “English literature of the late seventeenth- and early eighteenth-century.”

Back to scribbling.

Leave a Reply

