w00t, I guess

December 12, 2007

It’s word of the year time, and the word is w00t. Those aren’t “ohs” they’re zeroes. And that is the word of the year according to Merriam Webster’s poll. Here, let Farhad Manjoo explain.

I know this now, because I am back on the Internets now that I have turned in all the final paper-type stuff that was requested of me this semester.

I would say that I am going to miss those papers, but I’ve had a bit of a breakthrough this past week. I can write final papers all the time! I just have to call them “my work” instead. It’s not my fantasy life, my hobby, or my unfortunate lack of ability to consider careers that would make me more money, it’s my work. I’ll get the hang of this keeping my in-law’s off my back thing sooner or later.

What I really miss right now is my couch. We are effectively down a couch right now b/c our cats have peed on it so many times that the cushion covers wore out from all the washing and re-cramming the cushion material back. So, we are not going to recover the cushions until we’ve gotten them patched. Which I hope there is still a store out there that wants to make money doing. D claims that luggage repair stores will do it. I say, luggage repair stores? Then I remember that he grew up in Brazil where people fix everything. There’s a whole sub-market of stores called consertorios, that sell everything under the sun that’s been fixed up. I hope we can find something along those lines here.

For now, it’s the floor. But you know what makes sitting on the floor all better? Work!… uh, no, wrong answer SJ. I mean, red wine!

That’s the ticket.

Leave a Reply

