The Zen of late cards, gifts, loan payments, etc.

December 15, 2007

So, for those of you who’ve seen me in the last couple of days, you know I’m going to try to make a concerted effort to relax over the next couple of weeks. I’m realizing that this, however, is easier said than done when those couple of weeks are supposed to include shopping, gift wrapping, gift giving, card sending, baking, partying, arranging for cat sitting, and oh, writing, submitting, reading, and generally realizing that I’ve got some work to do to get my life headed in the direction that I want it to. Clearly, not all of these things are going to happen in the next 22 days. So, which ones need to go, or which ones can I get done without causing any unnecessary panic attacks?

That is going to be the question of the weekend, and here’s the thing: I’m realizing that I actually probably can get close to all of it done, but I really don’t need to stress out to do it.  It’s not doing these things that stresses me out–it’s thinking about doing them! So that’s the plan. No thinking, just doing. I’ll just do it. I’ll do a little yoga and clear my mind and then, all good.

So, in that spirit, what I’ve been doing this morning is making sure that I have a nice hit of total mindlessness before I start doing things. Namely, I’m allowing D to show me all of his favorite South Park clips on YouTube. I’m one of those people who has actually never watched an entire episode of South Park, so it’s all new to me.

And oh, it’s definitely New Year’s cards this year. Executive decision.

Leave a Reply

