Have you hugged a marathoner or cured cancer lately?

December 17, 2007

It’s Monday, and that means I’m back in Boca after a Sunday gritting my teeth in the parallel world called In-Law City, and on this particular Monday it also means that I have been given a wonderful early Christmas present by my dermatologist which is, I only have to go in once a year now. He must have been reading my wish list, because that is what I really wanted to hear. So, seeing as it is always a great day not to have skin cancer, I am going to go out on a limb here and post a link to my sister’s Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Team in Training fundraising page. It’s  right here.
She’s got a little less than a month until the Disney marathon, and she’s a little over halfway to her mandatory minimum fundraising goal to participate. This is not due to lack of effort–she’s been sending out emails since August and she’s gotten great results from the people who don’t always procrastinate these things until the very last minute. She is really gung ho about this, so she’s planning on putting the balance on her credit card if some people don’t step up to the plate and give already. My sister makes me look like a slacker–she’s currently commuting from Miami to West Palm every day and putting in ten to twelve hours of accounting due diligence in between. Plus, she’s training for this marathon and of course raising money to support cancer treatment and research. So, if you have an extra 5 or 10 ten dollars and a minute to fill out an online donation form, I am encouraging you to make a merrier Christmas for one overworked public accountant, and as a bonus possibly cure cancer. Seriously, the survival rate for children under 5 with Acute Lymphocitic Leukemia is now 90.4%. This is still not reassuring enough for people such as my friend Carol in BC who was just diagnosed w/ ALL as a young adult, though, so I for one am giving to support the research that has brought us this far.

I know this is the time of year to be hit up for a bazillion things, but the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society could use whatever help you could spare. And if you’d like to donate, here is a great place to do it.

PS As an added incentive, if I see any of my known reader’s names pop up on the little sidebar in any amount, I will buy that person a lot of beer.  As much as they can drink in one night. So this could actually be more like an investment opportunity if you play it right.

One Response to “Have you hugged a marathoner or cured cancer lately?”


Leave a Reply

