So Wishlist 2005

December 18, 2007

Okay, Mr. Manjoo, I was way ahead of you on this one. I’ve been lusting after one of these all-in-one Egg McMuffin toaster contraptions since I first heard about them in 2005. That was my one post-college year so far when I’ve actually had time to think about what I wanted for Christmas before actual Christmas. I thought about this thing day and night for like, three days. I brought it up in every conversation that I could. It’s rare for me to get so into a thingy thing, but I did, and I have to chalk that up to the mental and emotional vacuum that life without school can become if you’re not careful. In the end, I decided that D made a good point: does this thing really save you time by the time you clean it and fix it when it (inevitably) breaks? Couldn’t you just make yourself eggs, toast, and microwaveable bacon in the same amount of time? I got my usual Barnes & Noble gift certificate instead, and a month later I was back in school and since then have not looked back at the glory days of my life as an American consumer.

Still, I got a little nostalgic when I saw that post on Salon today. Nostalgic like for a the feeling of having a crush long after you’ve forgotten the person it was on. I think this is the one and only object of true consumer lust I’ve had in a long time. That and the Roomba.

Leave a Reply

