When you walk through the garden

January 17, 2008

Okay, I’m two discs in to the 4th season of The Wire, and it’s happened again. I’m completely obsessed. I woke up this morning humming the theme song and I just can’t get it out of my head. I can’t stop thinking about the characters, the place, the actors–like, I considered it a profound revelation this morning, over coffee, when I thought to myself, “Wow, that guy who places Tom Carcetti is really good, I completely forgot he wasn’t a politician in real life.” So naturally, I am overjoyed to stumble upon this Atlantic profile of the show’s creator, David Simon. I hope the link works for the general public, b/c it’s definitely worth a read if you love the show, want to know more about the show, or just want to read about how a journalist got so angry with newspapers today that he became a TV writer and came up with a show that contains one of the most persistent, bold, relentless critiques of American capitalism and politics that I’ve ever seen.  It’s just so good most of the time that I can’t even begin to describe it; I’ve certainly never seen another show like it.

Leave a Reply

