Ugh

January 30, 2008

A week of radio silence, and that’s still all I can manage. Usually Wednesday’s are so much better than Tuesdays, but…

Ugh: Florida, the take it in the ass state.

Ugh: adios to my presidential preference. Tear, for real.

Ugh: Milton was a sexist, selfish bastard. Ignorance was bliss.

Ugh: my future employability may depend upon me believing that the best way to make medical decisions is to plot “Quality of Life Adjusted Years” according to probabilities of treatment outcomes, and that I may one day be asked, so if being healthy for ten years is worth ten points, how many points would being sick for ten years be worth? Because I’m sure to come up with a valid answer for that one when I’m sitting on a doctor’s examining table in a little paper gown staring down some life-threatening condition.

Is this just what I get for starting 2008 with a ridiculously optimistic mindset? Or is this just the caffeine withdrawal still talking (I kind of gave up coffee… bad idea?)?

2 Responses to “Ugh”

  1. JG Says:

    Looks like a late cranky Tuesday topped off with caffeine withdrawal? (And oh, hey, so you don’t get your hopes up for future literature study—most of those old white guys were sexist, selfish bastards.)

  2. SJ Says:

    I know, I know… it was just particularly annoying this morning, but appropriate for the class I read it for, Biography, in which we often talk about how biography affects the reading of the work. Of course if it affected it too much, we wouldn’t have anything left to read, but on the other hand, it can definitely make one less enthusiastic even if one is pretty amenable to the general idea that you can’t hold individual writers responsible for the general biases of their day… like I said, it’s an ugh day.


Leave a Reply

