Friday Red: At last

February 22, 2008

Wow, I think it’s been a month of Friday’s since I last got to keep my favorite tradition of red wine + free time. It’s been a hectic few weeks in which my last remaining uncommitted brain cells have been invaded by the word “job.” Which is more than a little futile, seeing as I won’t have my library degree until August and most search committees won’t look at my app until I have it in hand. But some will, and I am slowly discovering them.

The last time I blogged, I would not have predicted that I would feel so unconflicted about this. I think economy woes + nearing graduation + meeting a few more really cool librarians made me wake up and say, you know, I do enjoy this job, and I want to give it shot, and heck, I will actually be qualified for it without another 5-8 years of school unlike my other two fantasy jobs of late. No more self-created inferiority complex. And having said that to myself, all of a sudden the future looks a little more promising. Like, it won’t be the end of the world if I just go with what comes my way.

Other than that, not much to report. Currently reading: Joy Kagawa’s Obasan, Carlyle on Boswell,  and a bunch of articles about standards in medical information and ontologies for clinical research (and a vast yawn echoes through the blogosphere, but really, it’s fascinating, I promise!)

D got a bike. He’s in love with it. I’m just trying to make sure he practices protected biking. For me the answer to “Would it be okay if I just rode along A1A w/o a helmet?” is always NO.

Last week I took my second canoe trip along the Peace River in central Florida. Last year, the whole drive there through dark cane fields on two lane roads felt like an epic of stress, but this year the drive just flew by. Why is that? Why does Clewiston no longer scare me?

And now, I think I am going to focus on the perfect beverage in my glass and the perfect weather on my patio. Sometimes it really does pay to live in Florida.

One Response to “Friday Red: At last”


  1. Amy and I knocked back about a bottle and a half of Ravenswood Cabernet last night–we feel you.


Leave a Reply

