yesssssssssss

May 22, 2008

You know what I’m hearing? Thunder. You know what I’m seeing from my second floor outpost among the scanners in the digital library? Fast, slanting rain.

Rainy season!

I’m a strange Floridian, I’m actually happier when it’s raining. There’s a word for this kind of Floridian: San Franciscan CORRECTION: normal, storm-loving Flordian. I only lived in SF as a very small child, but I think rain is in my genetic code.

Thus, my favorite Florida time of year has just begun. The natural world of Florida is probably what I’ll miss most when I’m surrounded by cornfields. I never get tired of watching palm trees sway in the rain.

3 Responses to “yesssssssssss”

  1. Amy Says:

    I just must let you know you’re wrong. Native Floridians LIVE for the storms. We are water people. I don’t know who likes sun all the time. LA people, I’ve heard, but I don’t know.

  2. SJ Says:

    Roger that. Actually, I think you are right about the LA people, at least my best LA native friend. I once shared with him my doubts about being able to live in Florida, as I often find sunlight depressing b/c it implies we should be happy all the time. He assured me that no, people could be depressed in the sunshine too, and that soon I would disconnect the need for grey weather from my need for the occasional down day. He was totally into sun all the time.

  3. Amy Says:

    Well, you can also just become a night person. I went years barely seeing the sun, when I was in my early twenties. Back then, for me, the sun was basically that annoying glare in my eyes when someone opened the bar door — and right when I was in the in middle of my pool shot. Ah, the early twenties. The days before consequences.


Leave a Reply

