Letter to HB from Kentucky

July 20, 2008

Thanks for the evil urges. As always. I had been highly suspicious

of your state before today, but today I’m seeing it

another way. I’m at the first rest stop, just inside

the border, the welcome center. I’m welcomed.

My cats are welcomed. Yesterday, on the turnpike,

we ate a hot, fast, and dripping lunch, mayonnaise

and ice pack condensation combining to make

our sandwiches disentegrate, seem

to disappear before we could get it to our mouths.

The cats didn’t drink any of the water

we gave them and started breathing heavily.

We left so much heat behind us to get here, cool Kentucky

after a front came through yesterday, a breezy 70 degrees.

It felt like Christmas getting out of the car, because it was a gift

and because we’ve been spending Christmas in Miami

the past few years. We took the cat cages out and ate

in the shade. We talked to people’s grandchildren about them.

We took our time. I didn’t want to leave. I get

why you want to go back. Hills and hills of grass

and a simple road. I wanted to start driving again

just to be on it. Space can have answers in it, or no answers.

We didn’t pass a lot of houses, so I never imagined

you & A in a particular one, but I do imagine that

for you. I see you in a house. With dogs and and beer.

With the lights on at night at the end of a road.

Good luck with the thesis–please always remember,

you made my husband cry

in a way that meant thank you–and good luck

with the middle schoolers. SJ

2 Responses to “Letter to HB from Kentucky”

  1. HB Says:

    To the sexiest li-bear-ian, thanks. It means a lot.

  2. SJ Says:

    Thanks for reading. I think from now on I’m going to be a libearian instead of a liberrain. Def. want to be more bear than berry.


Leave a Reply

