“It has scenes of graphic, pointless violence”

March 14, 2008

Hmmm… I really liked Cache, but I think I’ll give this one  a miss. But I am glad I read all the way to the end for that priceless summation by AO Scott.

3 Responses to ““It has scenes of graphic, pointless violence””

  1. Bradley Says:

    Critics seem to have strongly mixed feelings on this one– I’m usually inclined to go with A.O. Scott, though (although it seems to me that he recently wrote a review that I really disagreed with– can’t remember what it was for, though. Or if I thought he was too generous or too mean. But I’m certain I surprised myself by strongly disagreeing with him).

    Apparently, people can’t seem to decide if there’s a genuine intelligence underlying this film, or just a self-satisfied pseudo-intellect that wants to have its cake and eat it too, showing the scenes of exploitive violence that the audience will eat up, then criticizing them for watching such a horrid thing. I dunno… chances are, I’ll go to see it anyway. Then I’ll probably hate myself.

  2. SJ Says:

    That seems to be the general trend: go, see, hate self. I haven’t come across any strongly positive reviews yet, but maybe I had found them first I would feel differently. B/c I generally like weird experiments where people remake their own films. Although D saw the trailer and was like, no way on earth. Which is saying a lot.

  3. Bradley Says:

    Yeah, I thought the trailer just looked… smug, somehow.


Leave a comment